Please assign a menu to the primary menu location under menu

Casey

Casey

FoodFood InformationLow FODMAP

Are Leeks Low Fodmap?

are leeks low fodmap

Are Leeks Low Fodmap?

Certain parts of leeks are low fodmap, so it depends which part you cook and eat. The leek leaves are low fodmap as long as you don’t ingest more than 2/3 of a cup. 

The bulbs of leeks are high fodmap and should be avoided if you are sensitive to fodmap.

 

What are Leeks?

Leeks are a great additive to most meals and commonly soups. They’re alliums, making them relatives to chives, shallots, garlic, and onions. They have a similar taste to their cousins and can come off as a sweet onion flavor. 

Their taste is much less intense than an onion though, making them easier to eat by themselves as well. 

 

What is a Low FODMAP Diet?

Many people are been talking about a FODMAP and the low FODMAP diet. Fodmap simply refers to the sugars in foods that can cause intestinal distress. 

The entire purpose of the diet is to help people who suffer from IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome).

 

Finding Leeks

Leeks can be found in most grocery stores and are usually sold fresh.

I’d recommend finding leeks with longer leaves if you’re on a low fodmap diet, as those are the ones you’ll get the most bang for your buck. 

 

How To Prepare Leeks

Similar to cooking any fresh vegetable, you should make sure they’re thoroughly washed! 

Once they’re washed, cut them right in the middle, keeping the leaves if you’re using them for a low fodmap diet. After that, they’re all ready to cook. Leeks take very little effort to prepare, another benefit to why they are such a great meal additive. 

 

How To Store Leeks

If you’re planning on storing leeks, you shouldn’t wash or cut them beforehand. 

Also, leeks can leave a very strong smell on anything they’re stored with, so make sure they are tightly wrapped in plastic! The last thing you want is your entire fridge smelling like an onion.

I wouldn’t plan to keep them any longer than two weeks in the fridge either. They last a little longer than some vegetables, but after two weeks of storage I wouldn’t trust them as an ingredient. 

 

Summary

Leeks are partially low fodmap, depending on the part you eat. The leaf stalk is lower fodmap when consumed in low amounts. However, the bulb of a leek is very high fodmap and shouldn’t be eaten if you’re on a low fodmap diet. 

 

FoodFood InformationGluten Free

Are Wingstop Wings Gluten Free?

are wingstop wings gluten free

Are Wingstop Wings Gluten Free?

Wingstop states on their website that they do not claim to be gluten free. They insist that they filter their oil to avoid cross-contamination, but that is entirely restaurant specific. In my opinion, if a restaurant doesn’t claim to enforce being gluten free, then it’s a toss up whether or not you’ll run into gluten. 

In fact, despite a few websites claiming that some of the items on the menu are gluten free, there are plenty of customer reviews stating they got sick after eating there. So while there may be some gluten free options, there is no guarantee that what you eat won’t also be cooked in oil used for breaded wings.

 

How Are Wingstop Wings Cooked?

Wingstop uses a similar method to cook their wings that most restaurants do. They heat vegetable oil to roughly 350 degrees Fahrenheit and cook them for around 5-7 minutes until they are golden brown.

This is the same for most wings, but obviously other wings will have separate seasonings and ingredients for flavor. 

 

What Are Some Gluten Free Wing Options?

Well if Wingstop isn’t guaranteed to be gluten free, then what do you do for wings?

It can be difficult to find a wing restaurant that has a gluten free option as they often use the same oil for frying breaded wings as they do others. Honestly, the best options would be to find local places that specifically have gluten free menus. 

I recommend calling ahead and asking if they ensure separation of any gluten based ingredients from their gluten free options as well. 

Another option is to cook some!

 

Gluten Free Wing Recipes

The only real way to ensure you get food that’s gluten free is to cook it!

There are tons of options out there, but I decided to pull together three great recipes for gluten free wings!

Gluten Free Sticky Wings Recipe

Gluten free BBQ wings

These are incredibly easy to make and don’t have a load of ingredients. The main point that makes them a great choice is they’re gluten free! 

Personally, I’m also a big fan of anything flavored with Worcestershire sauce even though I can barely pronounce it. 

Check out the recipe here at What The Fork Food Blog!

 

Crispy Baked Gluten Free Buffalo Wings

gluten free wings recipe

Not everyone is a fan of sticky wings, but who doesn’t love buffalo wings? 

Instead of breading or flour, these wings use cornstarch and baking powder with it’s seasoning to give it some crisp. 

Check out the recipe at At Home With Shay.

 

Gluten Free Chicken Wings

gluten free chicken wings

These are even simpler to make than the first recipe and have fewer ingredients. They’re the recipe I go to when I want wings, but am feeling pretty lazy. 

Check them out here at Gluten Free Palate!

 

Summary

Sadly, the Wingstop wings may not be gluten free if they don’t properly separate their oil used for cooking. Since they don’t guarantee your food will be gluten free, it’s safe to assume you won’t be getting gluten free food. 

Food InformationGluten Free

Are Jolly Rancher Candy Canes Gluten Free?

are jolly rancher candy canes gluten free

What Are Jolly Rancher Candy Canes

A festive version of their other great tasting candies, Jolly Rancher Candy Canes are a twist on the normal candy cane. Coming in a few different flavors of blue raspberry, cherry, and green apple, they make for a great alternative if you’re not a fan of mint. 

There’s nothing wrong with the classic candy canes, but a green apple candy cane is definitely preferred in my opinion. 

Are Jolly Rancher Candy Canes Gluten Free?

There aren’t any ingredients in Jolly Rancher Candy Canes that contain gluten, so the candy canes are gluten free! Personally I love the flavor of them over the normal candy cane flavors. 

If you’re wondering what ingredients are in these candy canes, they’re listed below!

Ingredients

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Contains 2% or Less of:
  • Malic Acid
  • Sodium Lactate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Artificial Color (Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5)
  • Glycerin

Source: Hershey Land

Nutrition Facts

Servings per Container12
Serving Size1 Piece
Calories45
Total Fat 0g0%
   Saturated Fat 0g0%
   Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg0%
Sodium 10mg0%
Total Carbohydrates 12g4%
   Dietary Fiber 0g0%
   Total Sugars 9g
      Includes 9g Added Sugar18%
Protein 0g
Vitamin D 0mcg0%
Calcium 0mg 0%
Iron 0mg0%
Potassium 0mg0%

Source: Hershey Land

Are Jolly Rancher Candy Canes Vegan?

According to the manufacturer, Jolly Rancher Candy Canes do not include any animal ingredients, so they should be vegan. The only questionable ingredients are the artificial colors that may have been tested on animals. 

But, as far as the composition of the candy canes, there are no animal ingredients. 

Other Gluten Free Candy Canes

Jolly Rancher Candy Canes may be gluten free, but what if you want other flavor options that are also gluten free? 

I put together a short list of other gluten friendly candy canes in case you wanted to add some variety to your holidays. 

Yum Earth Candy Canes

yum earth candy canes gluten free

Probably the most environmentally friendly brand, Yum Earth candy canes are Organic, Non-GMO, Vegan, and Gluten Free!

They have the classic candy cane taste, but with the added benefit of being a little bit healthier. Also, if you’re someone who worries about any of the eight major allergens, it is labeled as being safe to eat for anyone who suffers from any of the allergies. 

Dum-Dums Candy Canes

dum dums gluten free candy canes

These aren’t the normal minty flavored candy canes, but another alternative to similar to the Jolly Rancher Candy Canes. 

The difference here is they have the added flavor of watermelon!

What Are Candy Canes Made Of?

The production can differ slightly depending on the manufacturer, but the general process is the same. 

Candy Canes are produced by first storing sugar and corn syrup in tanks and monitored strictly. This combination is pumped to a high temperature production line, being mixed and heated until it boils. 

Then the mixture is pushed to a vacuum cooker where it is cooked. Once it reaches a certain point, this simple mixture of cooked sugar and corn syrup is poured onto a cooling table where peppermint and various flavors are added. 

Some companies report using starch to keep the flavor in during mixing and prevents it sticking to anything. 

This flavorful batch is then mixed further until it eventual reaches a puller, pulling the batch into smaller strips to be placed into a batch former. The common red or other colored stripes are added after that.

These striped batches go through various downsizing machines until they reach the size of a standard candy cane. 

BreakfastFoodFood InformationGluten Free

Are IHOP Hash Browns Gluten Free?

are ihop hash browns gluten free

It’s breakfast and you’re craving IHOP. Maybe your kids or family are craving IHOP, either way you also want to stay gluten free while you enjoy your meal.

So that leaves the question, are there gluten free options at IHOP? More specifically for this post, we want to know if the IHOP hash browns are gluten free.

Are IHOP Hash Browns Gluten Free

IHOP Hash Browns do not contain any gluten and are gluten free! I would still be cautious and if you’re sensitive to gluten, ensure they aren’t cooked near any foods that contain gluten.

Other Gluten Free Food at IHOP

Hash browns aren’t you’re only gluten free option if you’re dining at IHOP.

  1. Bacon – Their bacon is made gluten free.
  2. Turkey Bacon Strips – Their turkey bacon is also delicious and gluten free!
  3. IHOP Crispy Breakfast Potatoes 
  4. French Fries
  5. Ham
  6. Pork Sausages
  7. Gluten Friendly Belgian Waffle Combo
  8. Gluten Friendly Pancake Combo
  9. Fresh Fruit

FoodFood InformationGluten Free

Are Cheddar Sun Chips Gluten Free?

are cheddar sun chips gluten free

Are Cheddar Sun Chips Gluten Free?

All flavors of Sun Chips are made with wheat which contains gluten. Therefore any variety of Sun Chip you’ll get is not gluten free, meaning Cheddar Sun Chips are not gluten free!

Sun Chip Ingredients

Whole Corn, Sunflower and/or Canola Oil, Whole Wheat, Brown Rice Flour, Whole Oat Flour, Sugar, Salt, Natural Flavor, and Maltodextrin (Made from Corn). Contains a Wheat Ingredient.

Sun Chip Nutrition Info

Serving Size: About 14 chips (28g)

Amount per serving:

Calories

140

Table% Daily Value
Total Fat 6g8%
   Saturated Fat 0.5g3%
   Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg0%
Sodium 170mg8%
Total Carbohydrate 19g7%
   Dietary Fiber 2g8%
   Total Sugars 2g
   Includes 2g Added Sugars3%
Protein 2gTable
Vitamin D 0mcg0%
Calcium 10mg0%
Calcium 0.6mg2%
Potassium 100mg2%

Source: Sun Chips Nutrition

Gluten Free Chips

If you were looking for some gluten free chips, try these out as they are delicious and an environmentally friendly brand!

FoodFood InformationVegetarian

McDonalds Vegetarian Options

mcdonalds vegetarian options

McDonalds Vegetarian Options

As our society becomes more and more conscious of what they’re putting in their bodies and how the treat they environment, larger fast food chains are taking notice. Because of this, diets/lifestyles such as vegetarian and vegan are becoming more widely supported by fast food establishments.

I do want to clarify that the options listed here are vegetarian and not all will be vegan. There will be some overlap, but don’t expect everything vegetarian here to also be vegan!

So let’s get to the vegetarian options at McDonalds!

Note: Some options vary by location.

McDonalds Vegetarian Breakfast Options

  1. Fruit and Yogurt Parfait
  2. Vegetarian Egg McMuffin
  3. Breakfast Hotcakes
  4. Fruit and Maple Oatmeal
  5. McDonalds Hash Browns

While the options are insane and extensive, it’s still nice to know that there are some options if McDonalds is you’re only choice for a breakfast as a vegetarian. Also, their hotcakes are pretty good in my opinion. 

McDonalds Vegetarian Lunch/Dinner Options

  1. McPlant
  2. Vegetable Deluxe
  3. The Spicy Veggie One
  4. Veggie Dippers
  5. McDonalds Fries
  6. Baked Apple Pies

Not every place will have the McPlant, but the Vegetable Deluxe makes for a decent replacement. Also be aware that the fries may be vegetarian, they are not vegan due to the oil they use in cooking them!

McDonalds Vegetarian Sides, Salad, & Sauce Options

  1. Side Salad
  2. Carrot Bag
  3. Apple & Grape Fruit Bag
  4. Creamy French Salad Dressing
  5. Balsamic Vinaigrette Salad Dressing
  6. Classic Oil & Vinegar Salad Dressing
  7. Raspberry Walnut and Red Wine Vinaigrette
  8. Citrus Splash Salad Dressing
  9. Zesty Italian Salad Dressing
  10. Sesame Ginger Salad Dressing
  11. Spicy Buffalo Sauce
  12. Sweet and Sour Sauce
  13. Tangy BBQ Sauce
  14. Ketchup
  15. Mustard
  16. Maple Syrup
  17. Strawberry Jelly
  18. Grape Jelly

The side salad is a bit small for me, so if you’re craving a salad then I would ask for the crispy chicken salad and obviously ask for no chicken. 

McDonalds Vegetarian Drink Options

  1. Smoothies
  2. Choco Fudge Latte Regular
  3. Hot Chocolate Deluxe
  4. Latte
  5. Espresso
  6. White Coffee
  7. Toffee Latte
  8. Cappuccino 
  9. Black Coffee
  10. Flat White
  11. Tropicana Orange Juice
  12. Soft Drinks
  13. Apple Juice

Pretty much all soft drinks and coffees are vegetarian. If you’re like me and prefer something sweet, then I recommend the choco fudge latte!

McDonalds Vegetarian Dessert Options

  1. Cookies and other baked goods
  2. Cadbury Crunchy McFlurry

The list seems short, but the ‘other baked goods’ encompasses quite a few items. Personally I love cookies but I’ll never turn down a McFlurry. 

BakingFood InformationKitchen Conversions

How Many Cups Are In A Pint?

how many cups are in a pint

How Many Cups are in a Pint?

Whether you’re baking or cooking, having proper measurements of your ingredients is incredibly important! There is some leeway when cooking for measurements, but baking is harshly precise and having the exact right conversion is paramount.

You add a little too much baking soda in your recipe and the next thing you know, you can’t escape the bitter taste in your snacks. 

So, knowing the right measurements, conversions, and correct way to measure can’t be neglected.

That being said, if you’re here strictly for the question, “how many cups are in a pint”, then the answer is there are 2 cups in a pint. But, I do recommend looking through the rest of this post to make sure you’re measuring right and to know the difference between measuring dry ingredients versus wet ingredients. 

What is a Pint?

Pint comes from the French term Pinte and is traditionally measured by 1/8th of a gallon. Sadly, there are varying standards on what a gallon is, which means there are varying standards on what a pint is.

On a positive note, there aren’t tons of different standards and there are only two main ones you have to keep in mind. The two main standards are the Imperial Pint and the US. Liquid Pint. There is also a dry pint, but right now my concern is with liquids. 

For an easy conversion, 1 Imperial pint is roughly equivalent to 1.2 U.S. Liquid Pints. 

What is a Cup?

Similar to pints, not every cup measurement is the same. In fact there are a few different measurements for a cup but traditionally they are measured as one-half of a pint. Hence why a pint is equal to two cups, because it was traditionally defined that way.  

If you live in the U.S. like me, you’ll most likely come across the customary cup or the legal cup. The customary cup is roughly 236 milliliters (ml), while the legal cups is measured at exactly 240 milliliters (ml). 

Imperial vs U.S. Liquid Pints

Which ones are most used and how do you know which ones were used in your recipe?

While one isn’t better than the other, different places do use different pint measurements. If you live in the U.S., you’ll unsurprisingly be using the U.S. Liquid Pint. If you live in the UK or Ireland, then you’ll be using the Imperial Pint. 

There are other measurements used for different places and a short chart depicting which can be found on Wikipedia. 

Cups to Pints Conversion Table

CupsPintsQuartsGallonsOunces
1 cup1/2 pint1/4 quart1/16 gallon8 ounces
2 cups1 pint1/2 quart1/8 gallon16 ounces
4 cups2 pints1 quart1/4 gallon32 ounces
8 cups4 pints2 quarts1/2 gallon64 ounces
12 cups6 pints3 quarts3/4 gallon96 ounces
16 cups8 pints4 quarts1 gallon128 ounces

Difference Between Wet and Dry Measurements

As if it can’t be confusing enough having to deal with multiple ways to measure a pint, then you have to worry about what you’re measuring being different too. 

For example, a cup of almonds won’t be anywhere near the same in ounces as a cup of milk. They have different densities and most dry ingredients will have varying gaps of air between the individual particles. These small gaps make for quite a difference in measurements. 

There are more things to worry about with dry ingredients though, such as packing or not packing. A lot of the recipes I come across usually don’t pack the ingredients in and do the ‘scoop and level’ technique.

If you’re unfamiliar with packing, it just means that when you put sugar or another granular ingredient into a measuring cup, you ‘pack it in’ nice and tight. Conversely, ‘scoop and level’ means to fill the measuring cup and use a butter knife to swipe off the excess, thereby leveling it off. 

Which Measuring Cup To use

While there’s a difference between dry and liquid measurements, there are also different cups to use for each. 

You’ll notice some cups with a pour spout on one side, these are unsurprisingly used for liquid measurements!

Alternatively, a dry measuring cup will have a smooth edge all the way around, making it easy to level off. 

More Conversions

Grams to Cups Conversion Table

How Many Teaspoons in a Cup

FoodFood InformationVegetarian

Are Jolly Ranchers Vegetarian?

are jolly ranchers vegetarian

If you live in the U.S., then you’ve most likely heard of Jolly Ranchers. While I’m sure they’re popular in other places, I remember their delicious taste from very early on in my childhood!

But, are these hard candy Jolly Ranchers vegetarian? We look at whether they are and what ingredients make them up.

Are Jolly Ranchers Vegetarian?

Yes, Jolly Ranchers contain no animal ingredients and are therefore vegetarian. In fact, Jolly Ranchers are also vegan as the ingredients are also vegan friendly. 

What Ingredients are in Jolly Ranchers?

There aren’t many ingredients that make up Jolly Ranchers, so it’s not hard to see why they’re vegetarian. The ingredients include Corn Syrup, Sugar, Malic Acid, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Artificial Colors (Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Yellow 6), Mineral Oil, and Lecithin (Source).

Jolly Ranchers are primarily sugar and don’t contain any animal fats are parts, making them perfectly safe for vegetarians! 

Other Jolly Rancher Candies

Lollipops

Jolly Rancher Lollipops are a weird, because their vegetarian/vegan status depends on one of their ingredients, Lecithin. This is a controversial ingredient because it can be derived from plant based sources, or egg yolks. So the status of this candy depends entirely on where they source they lecithin from. 

That being said, Jolly Rancher hasn’t specifically labeled these as vegan-friendly, so I would be cautious. 

Jelly Beans

Surprisingly, these don’t contain gelatin, and are made with vegan friendly ingredients. So they would be safe for a vegetarian to eat despite the company not specifically claiming they are vegetarian/vegan. 

The decision is up to you though, as it may also depend on where you live. Sometimes ingredients change slightly depending on the country, so be sure to check the ingredients listed. 

Gummies

Jolly Rancher Misfits and Jolly Rancher Bites are the only vegetarian/vegan friendly chew. All other gummies produced by Jolly Rancher contain some gelatin, lecithin, or other ingredient that can be derived from an animal source. 

Do Jolly Ranchers Have Gelatin? 

While the topic of gelatin in candy might not matter much for some vegetarians, it does for vegans. If you’re a vegan looking for a dairy free product, gelatin is not something you want to see.

Thankfully, the hard candies don’t have any gelatin, making them vegan friendly. However, some of their other candies including their gummies, do contain gelatin. 

Jolly Rancher Alternatives

Let’s say you stumbled on this article and you’re vegan, not vegetarian. Well since some Jolly Rancher products can use ingredients that were used on animal testing or contain animal products themselves, then what are some alternative treats?

GoOrganic Hard Candies

GoOrganic make candies similar to what a Jolly Rancher hard candy is. All ingredients are organic and contain a variety of flavorings that are plant based. They are made in a variety of flavors including, Strawberry, Cherry, Pomegranate, Blood Orange, Honey, Ginger, Mint, Honey Lemon, and Assorted flavors.

Airheads!

While they aren’t a hard candy, airheads are a great sweet alternative to Jolly Ranchers that have a similar tart flavor. One of the great aspects of this is that airheads are vegan. They do however contain a slight amount of trans fat. 

FoodFood Information

5 Best Appetizers With Prosciutto

Pear prosciutto appetizer

Delicious Appetizers With Prosciutto!

There’s no better way to start any party or get together than a tasty supply of appetizers! You can go the route of cheese, crackers, and prosciutto with some add-ons. But, my personal preference is to spice it up a little and spend some time on appetizers. 

That’s not to say that cheese and crackers can’t be an amazing, I just prefer a dish with a little pizzazz. Thankfully, prosciutto is the perfect addition for a little subtle kick to the taste buds. 

Why Prosciutto?

Prosciutto can be prepared in a variety of ways and change up just about any dish. This simple meat can be served hot or cold, and it goes great with just about any fruit, cheese, or even vegetables.

So if you’re having a get together and want a great introduction appetizer, then consider adding one of these prosciutto recipes to the menu!

fried peppers with prosciutto
Photo Credit: foodandwine.com

1. Fried Peppers with Prosciutto

This is a great start as it’s one of the simplest recipes and tastes great! The main point of adding this to the list is for anyone who wants a nice appetizer with prosciutto, but doesn’t want to spend a lot of time preparing it. 

The recipe mostly calls for cooking the peppers over heat for about 4 minutes. Then, add prosciutto to the pan and heat thoroughly. That’s it, a pretty simple appetizer to quite literally, spice up the party. 

five herb frittata prosciutto and parmesan
Photo Credit: foodandwine.com

2. Five-Herb Frittata with Prosciutto and Parmesan

Want something with a little more flavor? Well this can honestly double as a small breakfast and not just an appetizer. A Frittata filled with herbs, parmesan, and of course prosciutto will leave anyone who tries it satisfied. 

Personally I prefer mine without mint, but too each their own. Once prepared I also recommend cutting into small bite size pieces to make it easier to serve as an appetizer.

prosciutto and melon appetizer skewers
Photo Credit: Savoredsips.com

3. Prosciutto and Melon Appetizer Skewers

Fruit and prosciutto are a great pairing and add a sweet twist to the party. The skewers can be served as just melon and prosciutto, or you can add your favorite cheese to it. My preference is to add mozzarella or cheddar to the skewers as they are both slightly sweeter cheeses. 

The recipe recommends to use cantaloupe for the melon or honey dew. However, you can also use watermelon as it also compliments well.  

Pear prosciutto appetizer
Photo Credit: appetizeraddiction.com

4. Pear and Prosciutto Appetizer

Another easy to make option, pear and prosciutto are a surprising but welcome combination in an appetizer. Overall, the recipes estimated time for preparing is only 10 minutes, making it easy to make an appetizer while leaving plenty of time for cooking the main course. 

If you’re looking for some other appetizer ideas, they are also listed on this recipes homepage!

prosciutto wrapped prawns with pesto dip appetizer
Photo Credit: Yummly

5. Prosciutto Wrapped Prawns with Pesto Dip Appetizer

As someone currently living in the North East, it would be ridiculous not to add a seafood option. While the recipe calls for prawns, you can easily add in shrimps with some slight alteration to prep. 

Also, be wary of allergies as there are nuts in this recipe!

Any More Appetizers with Prosciutto?

Hopefully one of these recipes was what you were looking for in your search. There are plenty of easier appetizers you could make, but few that would have such a great taste. 

If you have any recommendations for other recipes for appetizers, please list them below!

FoodKitchen Conversions

How Many Grams to Cups Conversion Table

how many grams to cups conversions

How Many Grams to Cups and Cups to Grams Conversion Table

It can be incredibly annoying finding a recipe that only has it’s ingredients in cups or only grams. Thankfully there are calculators and conversion tables to help, which is what I made here! This page is meant to cover a wide variety of ingredients and their common measurements to help in baking or cooking. 

Grams to Cups Conversion and Why They Differ

Some people may be wondering, why does the ingredient matter, wont 1 cup always equal the same amount in grams? The answer is no, different ingredients come with different densities and will also not always be able to equally fill up the space in a measuring cup. 

As a rule of thumb though, for dry goods roughly 128g equals 1 cup.

How to Fill a Measuring Cup

It seems silly because the first thing you think is, “just put the stuff in the cup”. But, filling a cup matters, especially if its a powdered ingredient. For example, scooping flour out of a bag and skimming the top until it’s flat is one way to do it.

Then you have to wonder if that’s what the recipe writer intended, or did they pack the flour into the cup before adding more? The difference between an unpacked cup and packed can be as much as a 50% difference in grams!

So, it’s important to know how to fill a measuring cup and ensure you do it the same as the original recipe.

Using Grams or Cups for Baking?

Another reason on why it’s good to know the conversions from cups to grams, is because a lot of baking should be done with precision. Knowing exactly how many grams you’re using is a lot more important than knowing in cups, tbsps, or tsps. Anyone who’s tried to bake knows that a little difference in measurement makes the world of difference!

Not Everything Fits Evenly Into a Cup

Keep in mind that not every ingredient you’ll use will fit evenly in a cup. Certain things like nuts or chocolate chips will leave air gaps when filled into the cup. This can’t really be helped, but it is something you should be aware of because the measurements won’t also be exactly the same. 

Conversion Tables – Grams to Cups

All conversion tables have the most common measurements for their ingredient and are averages. If you know of more ingredients you’d like to see on this, please leave a comment below!

Water Conversion Tables

Water Grams to Cups

50g3 tbsp + 1 tsp
100g1/4 cup + 3 tbsp
200g3/4 cup + 1 tbsp
250g1 cup + 1 tbsp
300g1 1/4cups
400g1 1/2 cups + 3 tbsp
500g2 cups + 1 tbsp

Water Cups to Grams

1 tsp5g
1 tbsp16g
1/4 cup60g
1/3 cup80g
1/2 cup120g
3/4 cup180g
1 cup240g

Caster Sugar Conversion Tables

Caster Sugar Grams to Cups

50g1/4 cup
100g1/2 cup
200g1 cup
250g1 1/4 cups
300g1 1/2 cups
400g2 cups
500g2 1/2 cups

Caster Sugar Cups to Grams

1 tsp5g
1 tbsp14g
1/4 cup51g
1/3 cup68g
1/2 cup102g
3/4 cup153g
1 cup204g

Granulated Sugar Conversion Tables

Granulated Sugar Grams to Cups

50g3 tbsp + 2 tsp
100g1/4 cup + 2 tbsp
200g3/4 cup + 2 tbsp
250g1 cup + 2 tbsp
300g1 1/2 cups + 1 tbsp
400g1 3/4 cups + 1 tbsp
500g2 1/4 cups

Granulated Sugar Cups to Grams

1 tsp5g
1 tbsp7g
1/4 cup52g
1/3 cup70g
1/2 cup104g
3/4 cup156g
1 cup208g

Powdered Sugar Conversion Tables

Powdered Sugar Grams to Cups

50g1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
100g1/2 cup + 3 tbsp
200g1 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp
250g1 1/2 cup + 3 tbsp
300g2 cups
400g2 3/4 cups + 1sp
500g3 1/4 cups + 3 tbsp

Powdered Sugar Cups to Grams

1 tsp3g
1 tbsp9g
1/4 cup38g
1/3 cup51g
1/2 cup76g
3/4 cup114g
1 cup152g

Flour Conversion Tables

Flour Grams to Cups

50g1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
100g1/2 cup + 1 tbsp
200g1 1/4 cup
250g1 1/2 cup + 1 tbsp
300g1 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp
400g2 1/2 cups
500g3 cups + 2 tbsp

Flour Cups to Grams

1 tsp3g
1 tbsp9g
1/4 cup40g
1/3 cup54g
1/2 cup81g
3/4 cup121g
1 cup160g

Wholemeal Flour Conversion Tables

Wholemeal Flour Grams to Cups

50g1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
100g1/2 cup + 2 tbsp
200g1 1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
250g1 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp
300g1 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp
400g2 1/2 cups + 1 tbsp
500g3 1/4 cups

Wholemeal Flour Cups to Grams

1 tsp3g
1 tbsp9g
1/4 cup39g
1/3 cup53g
1/2 cup78g
3/4 cup117g
1 cup155g

Brown Sugar Conversion Tables

Brown Sugar Grams to Cups

50g1/4 cup
100g1/2 cup
200g1 cup
250g1 1/4 cup
300g1 1/2 cup
400g2 cups
500g2 1/4 cups + 3 tbsps

Brown Sugar Cups to Grams

1 tsp4g
1 tbsp13g
1/4 cup51g
1/3 cup68g
1/2 cup105g
3/4 cup152g
1 cup203g

Icing Conversion Tables

Icing Grams to Cups

50g1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
100g1/2 cup + 2 tbsp
200g1 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp
250g1 1/2 cup + 3 tbsp
300g2 cups + 1 tbsp
400g2 3/4 cups
500g3 1/4 cups + 2 tbsp

Icing Cups to Grams

1 tsp3g
1 tbsp9g
1/4 cup37g
1/3 cup50g
1/2 cup74g
3/4 cup111g
1 cup148g

Maple Syrup Conversion Tables

Maple Syrup Grams to Cups

50g2 tbsp + 1tsp
100g1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
200g1/2 cup + 3 tbsp
250g3/4 cup + 1 tbsp
300g1 cup
400g1 1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
500g1 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp

Maple Syrup Cups to Grams

1 tsp6g
1 tbsp19g
1/4 cup76g
1/3 cup101g
1/2 cup152g
3/4 cup227g
1 cup303g

Butter Conversion Tables

Butter Grams to Cups

50g2 tbsp + 1 tsp
100g1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
200g1/2 cup + 3 tbsp
250g3/4 cup + 1 tbsp
300g1 cup
400g1 1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
500g1 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp

Butter Cups to Grams

1 tsp6g
1 tbsp19g
1/4 cup76g
1/3 cup101g
1/2 cup152g
3/4 cup227g
1 cup303g

Milk Conversion Tables

Milk Grams to Cups

50g3 tbsp
100g1/4 cup + 2 tbsp
200g3/4 cup + 1 tbsp
250g1 cup
300g1 cup + 3 tbsp
400g1 1/2 cup + 1 tbsp
500g1 3/4 cup + 3 tbsp

Milk Cups to Grams

1 tsp5g
1 tbsp16g
1/4 cup64g
1/3 cup85g
1/2 cup128g
3/4 cup191g
1 cup255g

Vegetable Oil Conversion Tables

Vegetable Oil Grams to Cups

50g3 tbsp + 2 tsp
100g1/4 cup + 3 tbsp
200g3/4 cup + 3 tbsp
250g1 cup + 3 tbsp
300g1 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp
400g1 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp
500g2 1/4 cups + 1 tbsp

Vegetable Oil Cups to Grams

1 tsp4g
1 tbsp13g
1/4 cup54g
1/3 cup71g
1/2 cup107g
3/4 cup161g
1 cup214g

Cream Cheese Conversion Tables

Cream Cheese Grams to Cups

50g3 tbsp + tsp
100g1/4 cup + 3 tbsp
200g3/4 cup + 2 tbsp
250g1 cup + 1 tbsp
300g1 1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
400g1 3/4 cup
500g2 cups + 3 tbsp

Cream Cheese Cups to Grams

1 tsp5g
1 tbsp14g
1/4 cup57g
1/3 cup76g
1/2 cup115g
3/4 cup172g
1 cup229g

Nutella Conversion Tables

Nutella Grams to Cups

50g2 tbsp + 2 tsp
100g1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
200g1/2 cup + 2 tbsp
250g3/4 cup + 2 tbsp
300g1 cup
400g1 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp
500g1 1/2 cup + 3 tbsp

Nutella Cups to Grams

1 tsp6g
1 tbsp18g
1/4 cup74g
1/3 cup98g
1/2 cup148g
3/4 cup221g
1 cup295g

Cinnamon Conversion Tables

Cinnamon Grams to Cups

50g1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
100g1/2 cup + 1 tbsp
200g1 1/4 cup
250g1 1/2 cup + 1 tbsp
300g1 3/4 cup + 1 tbsp
400g2 1/2 cups
500g3 cups + 1 tbsp

Cinnamon Cups to Grams

1 tsp3g
1 tbsp9g
1/4 cup41g
1/3 cup54g
1/2 cup82g
3/4 cup122g
1 cup160g

Cocoa Powder Conversion Tables

Cocoa Powder Grams to Cups

50g1/4 cup + 3 tbsp
100g3/4 cup + 2 tbsp
200g1 3/4 cup + 1 tbsp
250g2 1/4 cups
300g2 1/2 cups + 2 tbsp
400g3 1/2 cups + 2 tbsp
500g4 1/2 cups

Cocoa Powder Cups to Grams

1 tsp2g
1 tbsp7g
1/4 cup28g
1/3 cup37g
1/2 cup56g
3/4 cup83g
1 cup111g

Chocolate Chips Conversion Tables

Chocolate Chips Grams to Cups

50g1/4 cup
100g1/2 cup + 1 tbsp
200g1 cup + 2 tbsp
250g1 1/4 cup + 1 tbsp
300g1 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp
400g2 cups + 3 tbsp
500g2 3/4 cups

Chocolate Chips Cups to Grams

1 tsp2g
1 tbsp7g
1/4 cup28g
1/3 cup37g
1/2 cup56g
3/4 cup83g
1 cup111g

More Kitchen Conversions

Tablespoons in a Cup

How Many Cups are in a Pint