Please assign a menu to the primary menu location under menu

FoodFood InformationGluten Free

Is Tomato Paste Gluten Free?

is tomato paste gluten free
Spread the love

Is Tomato Paste Gluten Free?

Tomato paste is gluten free and should be safe to consume for those with celiacs. While tomato paste is gluten free, there may be other ingredients in a recipe that are not. Be sure to check all ingredients of a dish before eating!


Tomato Paste Nutrition

Tomato paste is low in calories, fat, and carbohydrates. While it’s not the healthiest ingredient in the world, its not bad and is safe to use in most diets!

Total Fat 0.1g
Saturated Fat 0
Trans Fat 0 
Polyunsaturated Fat 0 
Monounsaturated Fat 0 
Cholesterol 0
Sodium 9.4
Potassium 162
Total Carbohydrates 3
Dietary Fiber 0.7
Sugars 1.9 
Protein 0.7 
Vitamin A
Vitamin C


How is Tomato Paste Made?

Tomato paste is just concentrated tomatoes. It makes sense that tomato paste is gluten free sense tomatoes are gluten free. 

The paste is derived from cooking tomatoes for hours to reduce the water content, strain out the seeds and skin, and cooking again to achieve a thick base. 

Tomatoes have a lot of rich flavor and reducing the water in a tomato means having a greater focus on these flavors while using less. That’s why most tomato paste is sold in smaller portions, because a little can go a long way in terms of flavor. 


Is Contadina Tomato Paste Gluten-Free?

According to Contadina, all of their tomato sauces and tomato pastes are gluten free! They state that fresh Roma tomatoes are used and that it takes roughly 13 tomatoes for a single 6 oz. can of tomato paste! That’s a surprising amount of flavor to fit into a tiny 6 oz. can. 


Is Cento Tomato Paste Gluten Free?

Cento states that their tomato paste is made with Italian tomatoes and that it is also gluten free! They also claim that their tomato paste is packed into a BPA free resealable tube and contains no extra ingredients other than salt. 



Leave a Comment