Please assign a menu to the primary menu location under menu

Food InformationGluten Free

Are Jolly Rancher Candy Canes Gluten Free?

are jolly rancher candy canes gluten free
Spread the love

What Are Jolly Rancher Candy Canes

A festive version of their other great tasting candies, Jolly Rancher Candy Canes are a twist on the normal candy cane. Coming in a few different flavors of blue raspberry, cherry, and green apple, they make for a great alternative if you’re not a fan of mint. 

There’s nothing wrong with the classic candy canes, but a green apple candy cane is definitely preferred in my opinion. 

Are Jolly Rancher Candy Canes Gluten Free?

There aren’t any ingredients in Jolly Rancher Candy Canes that contain gluten, so the candy canes are gluten free! Personally I love the flavor of them over the normal candy cane flavors. 

If you’re wondering what ingredients are in these candy canes, they’re listed below!

Ingredients

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Contains 2% or Less of:
  • Malic Acid
  • Sodium Lactate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Artificial Color (Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5)
  • Glycerin

Source: Hershey Land

Nutrition Facts

Servings per Container12
Serving Size1 Piece
Calories45
Total Fat 0g0%
   Saturated Fat 0g0%
   Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg0%
Sodium 10mg0%
Total Carbohydrates 12g4%
   Dietary Fiber 0g0%
   Total Sugars 9g
      Includes 9g Added Sugar18%
Protein 0g
Vitamin D 0mcg0%
Calcium 0mg 0%
Iron 0mg0%
Potassium 0mg0%

Source: Hershey Land

Are Jolly Rancher Candy Canes Vegan?

According to the manufacturer, Jolly Rancher Candy Canes do not include any animal ingredients, so they should be vegan. The only questionable ingredients are the artificial colors that may have been tested on animals. 

But, as far as the composition of the candy canes, there are no animal ingredients. 

Other Gluten Free Candy Canes

Jolly Rancher Candy Canes may be gluten free, but what if you want other flavor options that are also gluten free? 

I put together a short list of other gluten friendly candy canes in case you wanted to add some variety to your holidays. 

Yum Earth Candy Canes

yum earth candy canes gluten free

Probably the most environmentally friendly brand, Yum Earth candy canes are Organic, Non-GMO, Vegan, and Gluten Free!

They have the classic candy cane taste, but with the added benefit of being a little bit healthier. Also, if you’re someone who worries about any of the eight major allergens, it is labeled as being safe to eat for anyone who suffers from any of the allergies. 

Dum-Dums Candy Canes

dum dums gluten free candy canes

These aren’t the normal minty flavored candy canes, but another alternative to similar to the Jolly Rancher Candy Canes. 

The difference here is they have the added flavor of watermelon!

What Are Candy Canes Made Of?

The production can differ slightly depending on the manufacturer, but the general process is the same. 

Candy Canes are produced by first storing sugar and corn syrup in tanks and monitored strictly. This combination is pumped to a high temperature production line, being mixed and heated until it boils. 

Then the mixture is pushed to a vacuum cooker where it is cooked. Once it reaches a certain point, this simple mixture of cooked sugar and corn syrup is poured onto a cooling table where peppermint and various flavors are added. 

Some companies report using starch to keep the flavor in during mixing and prevents it sticking to anything. 

This flavorful batch is then mixed further until it eventual reaches a puller, pulling the batch into smaller strips to be placed into a batch former. The common red or other colored stripes are added after that.

These striped batches go through various downsizing machines until they reach the size of a standard candy cane. 

Viraflare
Leave a Comment